Boundary disputes: Osun govt inaugurates 11-man committee

By Francis Ezediuno

The Osun State Government has inaugurated an 11-man Osun State Boundary Commission to tackle the boundary disputes within and outside the State.

The committee, according to the government, will be saddled with the mandate to amicably settle all boundary disputes within the State, as well as Osun and contiguous states.

This was made known by the State Governor, Adegboyega Oyetola, Tuesday, in Osogbo during the inauguration of the State Boundary Committee.

The Governor, who was represented by his deputy, Benedict Alabi stated that the composition and subsequent inauguration of the Committee was in tandem with Section 4 and 5 of the Osun State Law, Cap 91, 2002.

Oyetola noted that boundary disputes were potential source of conflicts in a state and have the tendency to adversely affect and erode peace, security and development within the State.

The Governor maintained that when such disputes are well and amicably handled, they promote and engender peace and harmony among affected states and communities.

“As a responsible government, we have decided to adopt a peaceful approach to settle extant disputes amicably between us and the affected States and as well as among affected communities in our State.

“This strategy is also in line with our recognition and status as the most peaceful State in the country,” he said.

The Governor then tasked the committee to extensively consult with critical stakeholders across the contiguous states, with a view to taking joint measures to harmonise inter-community relationship.

The 11- man committee which is headed by the Deputy Governor, Benedict Alabi is saddled with the responsibility of adopting Alternative Conflict Resolution Model to resolve every issue.

Recall that the state is currently having boundary contention with her neighbouring states of Ekiti, Ondo and Oyo, coupled with intra boundary disputes amongst some communities like Iwoye/Iragberi, Iwo/Ile-Ogbo, Erin-Osun/Ilobu, among others.

Members of the Committee include Commissioners for Lands, Finance, Information, Special Adviser on Security, the State Commissioner of Police and the State Surveyor General.

Others are the Commissioner for Boundary Settlement, Justice Kunle Adeigbe, as Mr. Olusegun Agboola, the Director of Administration, Office of the Deputy Governor, will serve as Secretary to the Committee.

Source: Daily Post